Freshpet Ready to Bake Testing

You may remember the post for my first product testing and giveaway of Freshpet dog food and treats. I was thrilled to be asked and I think Henry was even happier than I was.  Well, a few weeks ago I got an email from the folks at Freshpet asking me if I’d like to try their new Ready to Bake cookies. Um, YES PLEASE!

As I’ve come to expect, the refrigerator ready Freshpet supplies came to me both quickly and in style.  Check out the adorable insulated lunch box the cookies came in!  Taking a look at the cookies for the first time, I had to ask myself “Why do the dogs need fresh baked treats?  They’ll eat anything (and I mean ANYTHING).”  Then I thought about it.  I had ready to bake cookies AND brownies in the freezer.  There is just something about fresh baked goods that is SO good.  Maybe the dogs felt the same way.

Freshpet on left, cookies for me on the right!

So, to get started, I decided that I deserved a treat too and I pulled out some ready to bake chocolate chip cookies and popped them in the oven so I would have something delicious to snack on while I baked for the dogs.  Once those were done, I pulled out the Ready to Bake Peanut Butter & Oatmeal Freshpet cookies.  I have to say that they smelled pretty good even raw.  Since I had already made human cookies, the oven was already pre-heated and all I had to do was put the cookies on the baking pan and flatten them.  After that they were in the oven for 10 minutes and I was snacking on chocolate chip cookies watching television.

10 minutes later, DING, cookies are done, smelling peanut buttery good and cooling on the stove.  20 minutes later, it was taste test time.  I’ve admitted before that my dogs are NOT picky about their treats but these went down so fast I didn’t even have time to get good pictures.  I had to take pictures holding the cookie while the dogs sat because otherwise, you missed the whole thing completely!  I’m gonna assume that means they liked them…

Two weeks later, while dog sitting for our friends pups, Sophia and Ralphie, I tested the Ready to Bake Oatmeal and Cranberry cookies.  Maybe Ralphie and Sophia would have more discerning palates?! I had similar feelings about the oatmeal and cranberry as I had about the Freshpet Sweet Potato treats, “‘Really?  Those flavors for dogs?”  I should just stop questioning the people at Freshpet because they obviously know more about this stuff than I do.  I took this video of our taste test.  I think the results speak for themselves.

So you may be asking yourself why the dogs really need fresh baked treats.  My answer would be “Why not?”  Freshpet cookies are better for them than the average treat because they are 100% all natural, contain no preservatives and are made of simple ingredients.  After smelling the Oatmeal & Cranberry and reading the ingredients, I tried one myself.  It tasted similar to cookies I would eat but less sweet because they’re probably better for me than the cookies I normally eat. Freshpet Ready to Bake cookies simple to make (no ingredient mixing or recipe following required), good for your pet and more personal (and probably less expensive) than a doggie bakery.  Sounds like a winner to me!

Disclaimer: I was asked by the Freshpet marketing team to review their new Ready to Bake cookies. I was not paid for this and, as always, all opinions are my own.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

