GPS: We are Young

I first heard this GPS (guilty pleasure song) on Glee and, while I liked it, I didn’t think much of it.  It wasn’t until I heard it again on my way down to Columbus last week that it caught my attention.  When the DJ announced that a song called “We are Young” by Fun was up next, for some reason I immediately thought of the lyrics from “Love is a Battlefield” by Pat Benatar (“We are young, heartache to heartache we stand”) and thought it was some rewrite of that song.  Though skeptical, I listened… and by the end, I was singing along.  This is the type of song that can become an anthem for a generation, and for a girl feeling like she is reaching the end her time as a “young person,” it hit home.  Every time I hear it, I sing along and rock out like a crazy person in my car (or my living room or with a hairbrush in the bathroom…). I think you will too.

One thought on “GPS: We are Young

  1. Eric Leath says:

    If you haven’t had a chance to listen to the whole album (Some Nights), do so; it’s really good. Standout tracks are the titular one and “All Alone”

Leave a Reply

