Jump Back Ballin’- The Main Event

As you’ve probably read in my previous posts (here and here), I love Jump Back Ball. It bring together 2 things I hold very dear- theatre and partying. I went to this fundraiser for Playhouse Square’s education department for the first time last year and this year I took things up a notch by co-chairing the Raffle & Silent Auction committee.  Last Saturday was the main event- Jump Back Ball 21 “Through the Looking Glass”- and I rushed back from a veterinary conference in Columbus to attend.  After a quick nap, I gussied myself up and headed downtown with my 2 favorite people- Tracy & Chris.

The night started off with food and drink on the State Theatre stage.  As a total theatre nerd, I cannot tell you how cool it is to party here.  You sorta feel like you’re in a crazy production or experiment.  On stage there were jugglers, a stiltwalkers, 2 bars, a drink pouring ice sculpture,  and some of the young creme-de-la-creme of Cleveland enjoying a good time.  Some people dress up in costume while others simply dress up which leads to some of the best people watching you can ask for.  I got my dress days before the event at my favorite place to find formalwear- T.J. Maxx.  Yup, you read right- I get all my dresses at T.J. Maxx. I find the cutest dresses at the best prices so don’t judge!

While we were enjoying dinner in the seats of the State, the first band started on stage.  Radioactive was the second band last year and, while they started kinda slow this year, they rocked it out.  I danced, drank and met up with some of my favorite bloggers.  Check out this great pic of myself, Jen from WhyCLE? and Amanda from Clue into Cleveland (both blog friend and amazing Jump Back Ball co-chair!).  The ladies looked lovely in their very similar Queen of Hearts themed dresses holding drinks from my absolute favorite JBB bar- the one in the ladies bathroom!

Also in attendance was Shibani (of CleShopaholic), my fellow Secondhand Mutts board member, and her husband, Nick.  Nick’s outfit was one of my favorites simply because it walked the line between formalwear and costume PERFECTLY.

To finish things off on stage before moving into the lobby for band #2, the JBB co-chairs, Amanda and Meredith, jumped up with Radioactive and rocked out.  They worked so hard to bring this event together and it was great seeing them finally be able to let loose and enjoy the fruits of their labor.

Back out in the lobby, the raffle & silent auction that I worked on attracted potential winners, a very elaborate cake begged attendees to “eat me,” and Tricky Dick & the Cover-Ups took the stage.  This band was probably Chris’s favorite part of the night and I must say that they did pull out some sweet 80’s tracks.  We danced the night away and much too soon it was time to head home.  As with any good party, I stumbled into bed with music still in my ears and spent the next day remembering the best moments with Chris and Tracy.

Farewell, Jump Back Ball 21.  I can’t wait to do it all again next year.

3 thoughts on “Jump Back Ballin’- The Main Event

  1. Such a fun night! It was great seeing you and Chris.

  2. I love that ladies’ room bar!! Kudos to you for your awesome TJMaxx dress find – that’s usually where I find all of mine! (p.s. great to see you today as well as meet your sis at Nishkama!)

  3. It was great hanging out — and I love that photo of me trying to be a rockstar. So silly but captured the moment perfectly!

Leave a Reply

