You guys want some COOKIES?

Every time I mention cookies, Chris quotes this…


Yup,  that’s my random fact for this post… but back to the cookies.

I made cookies… and I only messed them up and had to start over ONCE (little victories, right?)!

The cookies were for the OBA December Holiday Party and Meet-up which took place yesterday.  I’ve been super excited about this event ever since Alicia announced it in October and it wasn’t until last week that I realized it conflicted with a Secondhand Mutts Board Meeting.  By that point, I had hyped myself up so much about making these cookies that I couldn’t turn back.  I coordinated with Alicia and Crystal so that, even in my absence, my cookies would get to the event and I would get the full slew of swapped cookies when Crystal and I meet up on Thursday at Amp 150 to knock it off my Scene list (more on that after it happens!).

But what cookies to make?  It was actually a really easy decision.  My mom isn’t much of a baker but she’s been going to a neighborhood cookie exchange for as long as I can remember.  I would just steal one of her recipes!  It was easy to pick because I’ve always had a clear favorite- chocolate mint cremes!  So, I copied the recipe at Thanksgiving and picked up the ingredients this past Saturday.  Here is where things start to go wrong…

Fail #1.  After going to 2 stores looking for them, I discovered that they don’t make pastel mint cream kisses anymore.  You see the beauty of these cookies is the red and green mint cream in the middle. What to do?  Well, I would not be deterred so, with the help of a nice man at Tapp’s Confectionary Supply, I formulated a plan.  I would put mint syrup in the actual cookies and buy colored chocolate creams.  Crisis averted and I went home to bake.

Fail #2.  I noticed early in the process that my dough wasn’t quite the consistency I expected and yet I kept moving forward.  As I was balling dough onto the cookie sheet to put in the oven, I called my mom because my doubled batch was not going to make nearly as many cookies as it should.  She was out but would be home in 10 minutes to go over the recipe with me.  In the meantime, I put the cookies in the oven.  When the timer went off 8 minutes later, I was greeted by a burnt pan full of melted cookie goo.  Obviously, something was very wrong.  My mom called back about 5 minutes later.  I told her about the mess I was dealing with.  “Okay, read me the recipe,” she says.  I start… “1/4 cup of flour.”  “ONE and a 1/4 cup of flour!!!” she replies.  Yup, that would do it.

So, I went out, picked up more dark chocolate and started again.  This time I was successful and got the wonderful amazing delicious cookies I had been hoping for.  So, here is the CORRECT recipe.  If you like chocolate and mint, I totally reccomend these cookies.  Despite my copious amount of issues, they are actually really easy to make (if you copy/follow the recipe correctly)!

Mint Chocolate Cremes (makes 2-3 dozen)

ONE and a 1/4 cup of flour
1/2 t Baking Soda
1 six oz. package semi-sweet chocolate pieces
2/3 c brown sugar
6 T butter
3 drops peppermint oil
1 egg
1 T water
1/2 lb. pastel chocolate creams (I used red and green but they can be found in many colors at any confectionery/cake supply store)

  • Stir together flour and baking soda- set aside.
  • Combine chocolate, brown sugar, butter and water in med. saucepan
  • Stir over low heat until chocolate melts
  • Stir in 3 drops peppermint oil to melted mixture
  • Pour into large mixing bowl and let stand for 10-15 minutes
  • Beat egg into chocolate mixture
  • Stir in flour mixtures
  • Cover & chill for 1-2 hours
  • Shape dough into 1 in. balls and place on cookies sheets
  • Bake at 350 degrees for 8 minutes
  • Remove and immediately top with pastel chocolate creams (push into cookie to flatten out)
  • Return to oven for 2 minutes
  • Swirl chocolate cream with knife
  • Cool on rack
  • Enjoy!
8 thoughts on “You guys want some COOKIES?

  1. Lindsay says:

    Those look delicious! I’ll swap you a cookie for a pork wonton?

  2. Sarah says:

    I couldn’t make it last night either. I wish I had thought to get my cookies over there so I could receive some in exchange. Darn it!

  3. Alaina Mabaso says:

    Oh my God these look dangerous. Not sure whether to thank you for introducing me to this recipe.

  4. CLEgal says:

    Missed you last night, but the cookies were delicious!

  5. […] Finding the Time (read her recap here) […]

  6. We missed you but your cookies were a big hit!! Thanks for participating 🙂

Leave a Reply

