Guest Post: My Dogs Are My Most Important Teachers

**I told you I’d be back! 2 posts in a day, how lucky are you? Becca from Peace, Love & Bagels is here with a very important lesson that she learned from her pups, Pele and Buck.  I want to thank Becca for writing such a heartfelt post and Alicia from Poise in Parma for initiating this OBA Guest Post-athon.  Well, without further ado, I’m going to go snuggle Henry and hand things over to Becca!**

Hi fellow Sara Finding the Time readers!! I’m Becca from Peace,  Love & Bagels here to take over Sara’s blog! When I first met Sara at one of the last Ohio Blogging Association get togethers, something that stood out to me about her was how much she loves animals! As a multi-dog owner and animal lover myself, I originally wanted to write a post about the life lessons I’ve learned from my pups. I’m still going to write about that, but it’s just a bit more poignant today because Pele (our oldest, a rescue black lab/german shepherd mix) has epilepsy, and had a seizure this morning that really shook us up.

Honestly, I spent most of the night thinking about all of the things that I’ve learned from my puppies and how I could organize it into this post, but after Pele’s seizure this morning, one lesson stands out in my mind –

“If you can’t change it, you might as well learn to let it go”

Actually, that’s a quote from a Zac Brown song, but it does a good job of putting my thoughts into one very eloquent sentence.

We woke up this morning and my fiancé, Brandon, was helping me get my lunch together for work, as he usually does, while I got dressed. I was just about ready to leave when we heard this banging upstairs in our bedroom. I thought it was Buck (the younger one, a Rhodesian Ridgeback mix) because he is a big, floppy teenage dog who doesn’t understand where all his limbs are yet (life lesson #2: it’s ok to be an awkward teenager – it’s not the end of the world). It wasn’t Buck, it was Pele, and he was having his second seizure in three weeks.

If you’re unfamiliar with puppy seizures, they’re pretty much exactly like human seizures, and all you can do is make sure they don’t hurt themselves. When it ends, Pele always gets up, shakes himself off and goes outside to poop.

Brandon took care of Pele while he was going through this and I made sure Buck wasn’t in the way. I could tell that Buck was unhappy about it. He wanted to make sure his big brother was okay and he was urging me to let him back upstairs to investigate. As soon as it was over and I let Buck go upstairs to see what was going on, he snuggled in between Brandon’s legs with Pele, making sure that he was alright (life lesson #3: take care of the ones that you love).

Brandon was worried that I was going to be late to work (I was) and kept trying to help me get on my way, but we were both so shaken up by the seizure that all I wanted to do was stay there and hug Pele and let him know we’d take care of him (life lesson #4: make time for what’s really important). Pele was a little rickety on his feet at first, but was fine once he could walk on his own. We always know he’s okay when his tail starts wagging again. The whole experience happens in about five minutes and then it’s over and Pele’s as wonderfully happy as he always is!

Sometimes letting go is hard to swallow, as a pet owner. In fact, right this minute I’m still worrying if he’s okay, how he’s feeling, what I can do to make him comfortable. Pele, on the other hand, is just living his life as if it never happened. Isn’t that amazing?! Something as traumatic as a seizure doesn’t even phase him.

I know that I’m never going to be able to be as carefree as he is, after all, as a human I was blessed (and cursed) with more memory and foresight than my puppy is capable of. I can, however, use this as a teaching moment…Pele is a constant reminder to me not to sweat the small stuff. My dogs inspire me every day to appreciate what I have and to not spend my time dwelling on things that I cannot change.

Please tell your pets that you love them today!

5 thoughts on “Guest Post: My Dogs Are My Most Important Teachers

  1. […] Becca wrote My Dogs Are My Most Important Teachers […]

  2. This is all sorts of awesome. I can’t help but think of the things that Grady has taught me over the years. Aren’t pups the best?!

    Thanks for participating in the OBA Blog Swap!

  3. Becca says:

    Just a quick update: after Sara posted my guest post, Pele had another seizure that afternoon. We took him to the vet and he’s now being medicated…but still as happy as ever!

    It’s ironically awesome that as Brandon and I were crying because Pele is epileptic, Pele was licking our faces, making sure we were okay and wondering why we were so upset. Love him 🙂

  4. Nice post, I think dogs can teach us a lot especially about themselves. I’m a dog walker and pups remind me so much of kids.

Leave a Reply

