Planes, Trains and the Social Network

Today I traveled from Cleveland to Philadelphia to Atlantic City for work.  First I took a plane…


Then I took 2 trains.  First from the Philly airport to 30th Street Stations (flashing back to memories of my year in Philly – and many many SEPTA rides- the whole way) and from there on NJ Transit to Atlantic City.


Finally, I took a shuttle and landed at the Trump Taj Mahal in Atlantic City.

As you might be able to tell, along the way I was engaging in my social media obsession. I would post photos on Facebook, check-in and indulge in my favorite blogs via the RSS reader on my Iphone.  Sometimes I am amazed by the power of the social network.  My old college friend, Abby, just happened to see my post about Atlantic City.

Off the top of my head, I can’t remember how Abby and I met.  Probably in a Communication class.  We lived close together, hung out fairly regularly on campus and Abby was often generous enough to give me rides to and from school (she had a car on campus way before I did!).

Sadly, Abby and I lost touch (besides the occasional Facebook check-ins) after college.  Until today!  Abby saw my post and asked how long I would be in Atlantic City.  Turns out she lives only 30 minutes away!  To my joy and amazement, we are now having dinner on Wednesday night.

Some people might laugh at my love of social media but moments like these make me realize just how valuable it can be.

Have you had a truly memorable social media moment???

3 thoughts on “Planes, Trains and the Social Network

  1. CLEgal says:

    I love when stuff like that happens! I was in the DC area for work a couple years ago and a friend saw my lunch Foursquare check-in. I was literally eating lunch 5 minutes from where she worked, so she came down and joined me for a cup of coffee. It was a short reunion, but still very cool and totally unplanned.

  2. Social media has changed the world 🙂

  3. Lindsay says:

    I haven’t had a memorable moment like that yet, but I definitely am inspired in ways I never imagined because of social media.

Leave a Reply

