Accepting Defeat… Sorta (Scene Restaurants 11-14)

Today is the last day of summer- my deadline for the Scene Magazine Challenge.  What do I have to show for it?  14 restaurants in 6 months… 6 very busy months.  No excuses though. I tried. It didn’t happen…. but it’s going to!  I’m not stopping here.  6 months to eat at 25 restaurants was a completely self imposed deadline.  You’re willing to give me an extension, right dear reader?

Awww, thanks! 🙂 I promise I won’t let you down. It may take a while (we’re going down to 1.5 incomes, remember?) but I’m going to all 25.  So, let’s review 11 through 14:

I went to 3 Scene restaurants in 2 weeks and have not been to one in a month and a half.  I’m embarrassed to say I don’t even remember all the details.  Somebody get me back on track!!

11. Fahrenheit (Tremont)
I went with
: Chris, Russ & Summer
Price: Russ & Summer took us as a thank you for watching their dog, Armani, while they were in Florida
What we had: I had the Heirloom Tomato salad & Rabbit Bolognese, Chris had a Mediterannean Pizza, Summer had the Strip Steak and Russ had the Short Ribs.  We split desserts-  Russ & Summer had the Strawberry Shortcake, Chris & I had the Chocolate Lava Cake
Food:  This was honestly one of the best meals I have EVER had.  I was nervous about getting the rabbit but it was AMAZING.  I savored every bite.  The tomato salad was also simply amazing.  Tangy and delicious.  Everyone else loved their meals too.  The only mildly disappointing thing for me was the dessert.  The chocolate lava cake wasn’t as moist as I would have liked-  it was good but not “melt in your mouth” good like I wanted.
Service: Great!  They are so quick to refill your water and our server was really nice.
Summary: Favorite Scene list restaurant to date.  I wanna go back… today.

                 

12. Nightown (University Circle)
I went with
: My parents, Tracy, Brian & Chris
Price: We went for my birthday so my parents paid. 🙂
What we had: I had the Chevre Chicken.  I can’t remember who had what but other people had Teriyaki Grilled Salmon, Prime Rib, Chesapeake Crabcakes, and Pork Chops.  I had the creme brulee as a wonderful birthday dessert.
Food:  The food was good.  Very traditional… dinner salads, classic flavors.  Not the most exciting but very tasty.
Service:   We waited… a while… for our server to come the first time.  He had another large table and service was slow through most of the meal.
Summary:  Not someplace I would pick regularly but a good meal.  Might have to go back to listen to some jazz.

    

13. Flying Fig (Ohio City)
I went with
: Chris & Julie
Price: Julie took us for my birthday. 🙂
What we had: Chris had the short ribs.  Julie had… ahi tuna… I think?  I had the mussels & duck gnocchi
Food:  Chris and Julie’s food was better than mine.  Don’t you hate when that happens?
Service:   We sat on the patio and the service was pretty good.  We waited a few times because I think the server had tables inside too.
Summary:  Spend the extra money and get the good stuff- the spare ribs are a menu staple for a reason!

                    

14. Lucky’s Cafe (Tremont)
I went with
: Tina Fey… jk.  I went by myself and took my copy of Bossypants.
Price: $16
What I had: An iced vanilla coffee and the Shipwreck.
Food:  Here is how Lucky’s website describes the Shipwreck— “A blissful blend of hash browns, eggs, seasonal veggies, bacon, and cheddar cheese, served with house-baked como toast & fresh fruit.”  In my experience, it wasn’t especially blissful.  Even with Lucky’s homemade hot sauce, it just didn’t have a whole lot of taste.
Service:   I waited 25 minutes for a table on a Sunday morning.  I guess I should have expected to wait but I thought maybe as a single I could get in sooner.  Ofcourse,  I didn’t give myself nearly enough time and when I finally got seated I had to rush through my meal.  My server was really nice though.
Summary: The overall experience was disappointing.  I have heard such great things about their brunch and it just didn’t live up to my expectations.

       

So, here we are, 6 months and 14 restaurants in.  Let me know if you want to hit up one of the remaining restaurants with me!!

 

 

6 thoughts on “Accepting Defeat… Sorta (Scene Restaurants 11-14)

  1. Dear Sara Marie you should visit the restaurants of the whole world ……………..

  2. Hey! Nothing wrong with extending the deadline. 🙂 By the way, I finally finally got Bossypants yesterday. Almost done and I love it.

  3. Yes, I will go with you! Let’s plan something soon. Superior Pho is good for cooler months since they have no a/c. Slyman’s is the only one I haven’t been to – maybe we should start there?

    • Sara Marie says:

      That would be great! You’ve been to 24 of the 25 restaurants?!?! WOW!

      I would love to go to Slymans. Let me know when you’re available!

      • I meant that’s the only one I haven’t been to that is still on your list. I have not been to Park View Nightclub or Amp 150 either. But I just checked your list again and I’m thinking you haven’t been to Amp 150 either! Maybe that one should be the one we go to since Slyman’s is impossible.

  4. […] I mentioned in my previous post, I may have failed at completing my Scene challenge in 6-months, but I would not accept defeat!  […]

Leave a Reply

