Clerks

I asked Chris for the most famous lines from Clerks–  that trailer pretty much sums it up.  What does it have to do with this post?  Beyond the word “clerk,” nothing… but it seemed like a good idea to post some video since I don’t really have any pictures. 🙂

So, what is this post really about?  Chris, my happy little law student, got a job clerking at the county prosecutor’s office!  That’s right- Chris is working for the man… the law man.  I’m sure it will be just like Law and Order (or nothing like that at all).  **Cue Chris’s standard rant about how Law and Order gives people a skewed sense of the justice system and what to expect when they have to serve jury duty here.**

…anyway…

Starting on Monday,  Chris will spend 20 hours a week downtown at The Justice Center… which is about 20 hours more than the average person would want to be there but he’s pretty stoked and that’s all that matters!  Lucky for us,  his current employer has agreed to keep him on 20 hours a week through the end of the year.  At that point he’ll continue clerking 20 hours a week, go to school FULL TIME and we’ll be forced to learn the art of stretching a dollar.  (Jill-O, if you’re reading this— HELP!!!!)

I am over the moon about this opportunity and thrilled at the possibility of Chris finishing school a semester early but also scared about living on 1 1/2 incomes.  We live comfortably now but still have months where I look at our bank account and cringe.  I like being able to go on vacation and travel to see our friends and go to nice restaurants.  I realize this will just be for a while and there are people SO MUCH worse off than us but change is hard.  So, forgive me if I don’t finish the Scene challenge on time (sadly, that wasn’t going to happen anyway) or if  I use this blog for the occasional rant.  Who knows- maybe I’ll become a genius in extreme couponing or win the lottery?!  Stranger things have happened, right?

One thing’s for sure- I’ll still be here blogging away! 🙂

Leave a Reply

