August in Photos

As you may be able to tell from the sad little number 6 next to August in the right column, I’ve been busy living life and haven’t had much time to blog about it.  If I have faithful readers out there, I sincerely apologize.  To give you a sense of what’s been keeping me so busy, I thought I would share my “month in pictures.”  Very little writing for me. Very little reading for you.  Just the good stuff that everybody loves- photos!

Let’s begin with the first major August event- the wedding of Kaitlyn Engelmeier and Danny Douglass.  It was a gorgeous day in Pittsburgh, drinks were had, cookies were spilled…




What are JT and Lindsay singing in that last photo?  I have no idea… feel free to comment on this post with the answer if you remember, Lindsay!

The next weekend we were on the road again, this time to upstate New York.  Lake of the Woods is one of the most beautiful and relaxing places ever- no matter the time of day…


What do we do at the lake?  During the day, we kayak, go tubing, sun ourselves on the floating dock, read or take a ride in the jet boat.  This year there was a new addition- Riley the Golden Doodle.  He was pretty stinkin’ cute!


After a long day of sleeping in, tubing and tanning, everyone is tired and glad to see happy hour come around.  No matter what your drink of choice…



Ofcourse, if you get bored at the lake house, you can always take a trip to one of the wineries for some wine slushies…



After that, it was a much needed weekend home.  I showered Baby Barbz and finished my bedroom furniture project with Lindsay while Chris and the boys went to Ocean City, MD for Jack’s bachelor party.  Then it was time to head to DC- the most convenient trip ever….  No, really, I’m being serious.  The Blogpaws conference, which I attended for work, fell on the same weekend as Lauren’s DC bachelorette party! WINNING! (is winning out, yet?  I’m probably behind the times on this one…)

Blogpaws, the conference for pet bloggers, was great.  I learned a lot about blogging, social media and email marketing.  There were also lots of cute pets and great people!  I met Dorian from Your Daily Cute, Pamela from Something Wagging This Way Comes, and as I mentioned before, A.J. from I Still Want More Puppies.  There were great vendors and even some adorable puppies up for adoption.  I fell totally in love with Devika, the little lady in my previous post.  I wish I could have adopted her and taken her home to meet Henry.  Lastly, the swag! I could do a whole post on the swag… but luckily A.J. already wrote one so visit her blog and check out the great stuff we found in our swag bags!!


After a few days at Blogpaws, it was off to celebrate the last of Ace’s Ladies Bachelorette Parties- which makes me a little sad to think about.  Hurricane Irene was bearing down on DC- but we would not be detoured.  Lauren was the classiest of bachelorettes- I mean, just look at that sash…

We weathered the storm and showed Irene who’s boss!  Between the limo, 20 Washington Apples and a blow-up doll named Richard, we forgot all about the rain…




Last, but certainly not least, I would be remiss if I did not give a shout out to Stonewall, Nelly and The Closeness…


Soooooo, that was my August.  How was yours?

2 thoughts on “August in Photos

  1. Lindsay says:

    We’re probably singing to a Journey song! August was crazy busy for us, but your pics prove it was worth the time and effort because it was all fun. See you sooooooon!

  2. […] the Zinninger (you might remember them from my posts about trips to their lake house here and here. We had a fabulous time drinking, skiing and socializing.  I am amazed by the way this family […]

Leave a Reply

