A splash of color!

**Before I start this post, I have to say that I considered not writing it right now because my phone which contains the photos for it is not within arm’s reach.  I. Am. Pathetic.**

It’s been a very busy summer but I am excited to say that I am FINALLY getting to some projects I mentioned WAY BACK in this post on February 1.  To be more specific, I have completed one of those items and am 2/3 of the way done with another.  WOOT!  But this post is about the completed item- painting our front door and shutters.

There was nothing explicitly wrong with the facade of our house (if you don’t count the collapsing side patio– which is being fixed!)  It just lacked… pizzazz.  Take a look…


Ya, white on light grey just wasn’t doing it for me and between that post on February 1st and the day those shutters were painted I went back and forth on color A LOT.  I thought maybe dark gray, maybe blue gray, maybe some shade of tealie blue (yes, I do realize that “tealie” is not a word, thanks).  My sister, the interior designer that she is, had lots of opinions.

By the time that painting day came around, I had made one decision.  Spray paint was the way to go.  Trying to paint with a brush over the slats just didn’t seem like a good time.  So- spray paint it was and that limited my choices down a lot. Suddenly my options were down to straight up dark grey or Valspar’s Mediterranean Blue. I wanted pizzazz and so I took the risk and purchased 4 bottles of Mediterranean Blue.

First task- remove shutters from house.


Sun beached siding?  Check.  Hornet’s nest behind the shutters?  Double check.

This is where I must make a statement about my husband. God bless that man. I get him into my hair-brained schemes and he not only keeps me sane but THINKS ABOUT THE DETAILS.  I am a big picture person.  I want to have a vision and get it done.  I don’t think about how it is going to get done.  Chris does.  Thank God.

After the shutters were washed off, sanded and then washed off again, Chris started painting them.  Why Chris?  Because after painting 2 motorcycles, the man is a genius with a spray bottle.


Yes, Chris is wearing a t-shirt in his head (to avoid over spray in his hair) and no shoes (because he’s a man and doesn’t need shoes).  The shutters are fiberglass or plastic or something so they only needed 2 coats of paint.  After that Chris impressed me with his head for details yet again and painted the screws.  I guarantee I would not have thought of this.

Final product?  Well, I’m pretty sure both Chris and Tracy had the same reaction… “It’s bright.”  They’re right.  It is bright— and I love it!


A few weeks later, after we had time to really get used to the color, we moved forward with painting the front door.  Painting your front door is tricky because it means you won’t have front door on your home for a unknown period of time.  This means you have to plan really really well.  Have the supplies ready, have your plan of attack prepared and pray for good weather.  When those things come together- GO.


On a side note- I really hate the fact that the siding to the left of the front door does not match the rest of the house.  Anyone know a lot about siding and want to help me fix that?  Otherwise, I’m going to need to start researching how that works…

Just like the shutters, you have to wash down, sand (a lot), wash down again, sand some more for good measure and then wash down again before you start painting.  Sanding is crucial with this door because it is real wood.


The door took 3 coats of paint and a lot of drying time.  We put it back on the hinges a few hours later but left it open as long as possible.  If I would have planned better- we would have chosen a less humid weekend for this as the humidity really does affect drying time.  Once we finally had to close the door we learned the cost of that humidity when the paint stuck to the frame in a few places.   It wasn’t a major error but it bothers me.  I haven’t fixed it yet either.  Need a good day with lots of drying time. Final product??



The screen door is pretty dark so it doesn’t have quite as dramatic of an affect as I had hoped or anticipated but I’m still glad I did it.  Because the door is hidden in many views of the house and the screen hides the color a bit, I’m planning to add a few Mediterranean Blue accents to tie everything together.  Chris is currently in the process of fixing up the side porch and I’ve take the opportunity to paint our house numbers.  Maybe I’ll paint some pots too!  Lots of possibilities, right??

P.S. This is my 100th post on WordPress.  Snaps for me!!  (Name the movie for 10 point!)

4 thoughts on “A splash of color!

  1. jill says:

    just beautiful! i LOVE it!

  2. Lindsay says:

    I am in love with your front door! I think the blue is perfect. And for the win, is the “snaps” reference from Legally Blond? Keep up the DIY home projects. I live vicariously through you since I don’t have shutters. 🙂

  3. […] IS FIXED.  AND WE GOT A NEW ROOF!!!!! Hooray!  I cannot fully express my joy at the change the painted shutters & front door, un-jacked up side porch and new roof made in my house.  I feel practically […]

  4. Evie says:

    Have you thought about painting the siding in the recessed area the same blue as the door? I bet it would look nice!! Thanks for your blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

