“One Man’s Trash” or WINNING!

I think this is what Charlie Sheen was talking about when he says “WINNING!”

My dad purchased this couch when he bought his first house in 1978.  I’m sure it was right on trend for that year but in 2011, most people would agree that this thing is right on its way to the curb.

For as long as I can remember, this couch lived in my parent’s basement.  Then 3 years ago, it was given a new lease on life (and a slip cover) and moved into my sister’s apartment at OSU.  Then, after graduation, it followed her to her apartment on East 4th.  Sadly, with her move into our house, it no longer had any place to go and my parents decided they didn’t want it back.  So, it seemed the options were dumpter or putting it out on garbage day. 

It looked like it was the end of the road for this orange and black beauty…

I’ll admit- it’s not my style.  But you know what?  For a 33-year-old couch it is in great condition and has a strong retro look… and retro is in right now.  So, when no one else believed in it- I took a chance on this couch and put it up on Craig’s List.  What could it hurt, right?! 

Low and behold, this was “the little couch that could” and within 24 hours I had a buyer!  So, last night, we loaded our old friend onto the trailer and took it to a new home.

So, where is the new home?  Someplace where this couch is going to fit in fine! The back office of a dive bar on Detroit Ave. called Now That’s Class.  I don’t think I could have asked for a more perfect place!

…and how much did I get for the black and orange beauty that everyone else had given up on? 

$120. 

Now, that’s …WINNING!

3 thoughts on ““One Man’s Trash” or WINNING!

  1. Lindsay says:

    How do you decide who gets the money? Family dinner celebrating the life of the couch?

    • I’m planning to buy drinks or a bottle of wine at dinner but the rest of the money is mine since I took the time to post it, sell it and deliver it. They were just going to throw it out.

      • Carrie says:

        Hey Sara..first off, I remember that couch in the basement of your parents house off Edgehill..even more funnier..I know the owner of Now That’s Clas- Paul. He is a good friend of my brothers ..and I frequent that bar often to hear bands..awesome!

Leave a Reply

