You, me & Tracee

(In this post’s title, my sister’s name should be pronounced like Deupree. “You, Me & Tracee,” get it???? Did I reach for this one? Yes. Does having to explain the joke ruin it?  Probably.)

It’s official- my sister lives with us!  Over the last 3 weeks we have been tranforming our guest room and over the weekend the official move happened.  It truly feels like we have been talking about this FOREVER.  I thought it was never going to happen… but it has!

Chris’s friends are already refering to Tracy as Deupree.  She seems fine with it.  I’ll ask her how she feels about it again  in 3 months.

So- guest room transformation in pictures? But, of course!

Here is where we started.  Standard guest room.  Only room in the house we had not painting.

Then we emptied the room.  Henry was pretty well devastated about the loss of his bed.  It was probably his favorite place in the whole house (except maybe when he is allowed in our bed). I’m hoping he’ll be able to get past it soon.  The bed & side table went back to Chris’s parent’s house.  The TV table went back to my parent’s house.  The wardrobe (not pictured!) went into the office. 

    

Next, I demanded suggested my sister paint the room.  Give it a fresh start. Make it her own.  I don’t remember the name of the color she chose.  If I were to name it, I think I would call it “Papa John’s Butter Sauce Yellow.”  It makes me hungry for pizza.

  

Then the official move in started.  Tracy comes over often enough that she was able to slowly transition her stuff into our house, 1 car load at a time, over about 2 weeks.

   

Finally, last weekend, Tracy, myself & our manual labor (aka- her bf, Brian & my dad), moved in the big stuff.  In just a few trips back and forth, the deed was done… and ever since I have been begging her to finish setting up so I could take pictures.    Yesterday, she got sick of listening to me and did it!  (Still happy with your choice of living arrangements, sister dear???) 🙂

  

    

My favorite part of the room?  The closet.  Tracy transitioned it to a 2 tiered system because SHE HAS SOOOO MANY CLOTHES.  All of which I intend to borrow!  I have deemed this Second Closet.  It is fabulous.

So far, Tracy living with us feels like a novelty.  It still hasn’t really sunk in yet that she is here to stay.  I’m sure it will at some awkward inopportune time.  Until then, I’m having fun!

2 thoughts on “You, me & Tracee

  1. chris says:

    First of all, what happened to the sweet Arnold poster that was in there?

    Second, I had no idea Tracy had moved a desk in. I am not observant.

    Third, it should be noted that I was not in town for this move, so I’m not just a big jerk for not helping. When are you going to blog about my racing anyway?

  2. Lindsay says:

    I’m jealous of your second closet! JT has one with Jack living with us, but he doesn’t take advantage of it. I think this wardrobe expansion deserves an outfit post or two.

Leave a Reply

