GPS: Jar of Hearts


My newest GPS (Guilty Pleasure Song, for those of you who didn’t see my first GPS post in January) is “Jar of Hearts” by Christina Perri.  Honestly, it doesn’t really qualify as a GPS because it’s not fluff at all. It’s heart-breakingly beautiful. BUT I’m totally obsessed, so let’s make an exception! 🙂 

I first heard this song on a segment of So You Think You Can Dance last summer.  About half way through the season, Billy and Kathryn did an AMAZING contemporary routine choreographed by Stacey Tookey to it .  After that, “Jar of Hearts” TOOK OFF- catapulting to #13 on Itunes and #23 on the Billboard charts.  At the time, Christina Perri was an unknown, UNSIGNED artist.  SYTYCD put her on the map and Christina actually came on to the show  to perform the song later in the season (you can read more about it here).  I’ll be honest, I had totally forgotten about it until I heard it on the radio in the last month but I’m so glad it is getting some much deserved play.  I’m totally addicted.

Below is the performance from So You Think You Can Dance:

You can also see some of the SYTYCD ladies (including Kathryn) in the official video for “Jar of Hearts” at the top of this post!

P.S. Be sure to check out the new season of So You Think You Can Dance starting on May 26!!

One thought on “GPS: Jar of Hearts

  1. […] been almost a month since I’ve featured a guilty pleasure song and even then my last pick, “Jar of Hearts” by Christina Perri, was just more of an awesome song I couldn’t stop listening to than a […]

Leave a Reply

