Vacation Frustration

It is Wednesday, March 2, 2011 and the temperature in Cleveland, Ohio is a frigid 26 degrees. I WANT TO GET THE HELL OUT OF HERE.  All I want to do is plan a nice anniversary get away for Chris and me.  Why is that so difficult?  And frustrating? And practically impossible?!?!

Our 2009 Honeymoon at the Royal Suites Yucatan

This is my own fault.  This whole thing started simply enough.  ‘Instead of gifts this year, let’s do a weekend getaway,’ I suggested.  Maybe Kalahari or Geneva.  Delightful (and relatively inexpensive).  Then I found out that my cousin’s boyfriend was cast in the Broadway production of The Addams Family.  Well, it seemed like fate.  New York City is one of my favorite places (I interned there in 2005).  Chris has never been there.  WE SHOULD GO TO NEW YORK!

Fastforward a few weeks and I start checking out prices.  Between 2000 and 2005, I took at least 5 trips to NYC.  Since that time, the cost of the hour flight to the city has practically DOUBLED.  Suddenly, I was looking at spending half of my imaginary budget on a flight.  That didn’t leave much to book a hotel room, see a show, eat, sight-see and pay for cabs and subway rides.  2 nights in NYC was going to cost us AT LEAST a grand. Now, I was getting frustrated…and for some reason, I got on the Apple Vacations site.

Low and behold, you can go to an all inclusive resort in Cancun for 3-days for about $700 a person.  Airfare included.  I was looking at 3-days in paradise for about the same price as 2 nights in NYC.  Screw you big apple, hand my my sombero and suntan lotion!

Well, Chris, as he often does, brought me back to reality.  What had started as a weekend in GENEVA, OHIO,  hitting a few wineries and staying at a bed and breakfast had turned into a full blown international excursion (did I mention that I would have to get a new passport?).  So, now I don’t know what to do.  We could say we deserve it and these are the type of getaways that we won’t be able to take when we have kids. I could also say that we need to save that money and be frugal- back things up and start looking wineries, Kalahari or maybe a a trip to Niagara on the Lake.

Travel is expensive and money matters are frustrating.  I think that’s what I’m trying to say here.  Soooo…anyone have any thoughts, opinions, secret discounts or private planes/beach villas they want to let us borrow???

Our 2010 Charleston Vacation

I really need a beach and a margarita simply to take the edge of from the frustration of travel planning…

5 thoughts on “Vacation Frustration

  1. chris says:

    I didn’t mean to Grinch up our anniversary, but our roof is going to be expensive. So will replacing all the insulation …although to be fair, that will make the house slightly more tropical 😀

    • Beth says:

      How about a trip to Cali? It definitely won’t be as romantic staying at our place with a baby here, but it could be quite affordable. You two could even go to Disneyland or Sea World. ;o)

  2. […] that post from Wednesday about my vacation frustration? No more!  Actually, let’s just forget about that little rant I went on. K? […]

  3. […] The One that led to our Cali Vacation- March 2011-  I wrote a post about how frustrated I was trying to figure out where Chris and I should go for our anniversary. My friend, Beth, commented saying we should come visit her and the fam in Cali- so we did.  And then I blogged about it- here and here. […]

Leave a Reply

