Guest Post: Super Brownies!

**YAY!  Lindsay in Wonderland is here to give you a super awesome brownie recipe…from SCRATCH (something you’ll never get from me so enjoy it!).  My only complaint- she lives 350 miles away so I’m not getting any of this brownie goodness.  I guess I’m forced to make the recipe myself!  Maybe a special Valentine’s Day treat for myself Chris. Enjoy!**

Hey blog friends! My buddy S-Rad is super busy this week with her benefit, so I’m filling in here on Finding the Time. When she asked me to be a guest blogger I immediately said yes. I was so excited! Then I was panicked. And stressed out. Then came the writer’s block. Even my husband offered to guest blog. Why was I putting so much pressure on myself? So I needed to relax and gather my thoughts. While I was doing that, I decided to make brownies in honor of Valentine’s Day because it is a requirement to eat chocolate on this lovely commercial holiday.

As soon as I pulled out my recipe card I knew I had my topic. My mom gave me her Super Brownie recipe years ago and to this day, I have yet to taste a better brownie. I know what you’re thinking. I’m wrong because you have the best brownie recipe from YOUR mom. But guess what? You don’t. Assuming I didn’t annoy you to the point of blog stalking someone else, humor me and try this recipe. It’s DELICIOUS. Gooey and chocolately and just perfect. Best of all, it’s soooo easy. Trust me. I hate baking. Measuring is for the birds. To the recipe!

Part 1. Super Brownie

Preheat oven to 325 degrees Farenheit.

Mix: 1 cup of melted butter, 3/4 cup cocoa powder and 1/4 cup vegetable oil.

In the same bowl add: 2 cups sugar, 1 tsp baking powder, 4 eggs, 1 cup flour and 2 tsp vanilla.

Blend it all together until smooth with a hand mixer. Or get crazy and do it with a whisk, but it’s not my fault if one bicep gets bigger than the other. You’ve been warned.

Pour the batter into a well greased pan. By well greased, I mean spray your pan with cooking spray. Bake for 30 minutes. Boom, done.

Part 2. Chocolate Frosting

This part is so necessary. It’s the icing on the cake. Literally. Well, except it’s the frosting on the brownie. It puts the SUPER in SUPER BROWNIE. Alright, I think you get it. Also, as a disclaimer, this recipe makes a ton of frosting. I usually make half a batch for the brownies, but if you love chocolate frosting, you’re going to want to make it all.

Ingredients: 3 cups powdered sugar, 2/3 cup cocoa powder, 1 stick room temperature butter, 5-6 tb milk, 1 tsp vanilla

Directions: With a hand mixer (you’ll definitely want a hand mixer this time) mix 1 cup powdered sugar, 2 tb milk and the rest of the ingredients together until smooth and creamy. Add the remaining powdered sugar and milk a little a time. You really can just add more to get the right consistency. If you need more frosting, just keep increasing your milk and powdered sugar. If it’s too runny, more sugar. Too thick? More milk. It’s that easy!

So let your brownies cool completely and then frost away! You won’t be able to resist cutting into them the second you’re finished frosting. That is if you aren’t full from licking the spatula and leftover frosting. 🙂

And in honor of Valentine’s Day, make these for your sweetie, your best friend or just for yourself! Enjoy!

Oh and if you want to see what else I’m up to besides ruining your New Year’s resolution diet, follow me at Lindsay in Wonderland.

4 thoughts on “Guest Post: Super Brownies!

  1. […] had the privilege of my first guest post over at my dear friend Sara’s blog, Finding the Time. Check it out to get my (mom’s) Super Brownie recipe (including chocolate frosting!). I […]

  2. […] to My Iphone comes from my fabulous friend, Lindsay.  She guest posted previously with an amazing brownie recipe.  Today she’s showing off her Blackberry pics for your enjoyment…   Well hi there. […]

  3. […] The One with my First Guest Post- February 2011-  While I was busy working on Near West Theatre’s benefit,  Lindsay P. stepped in and kept things interesting by sharing her brownie recipe.  YUM! […]

Leave a Reply

