The holiday spirit

Christmas is only days away!  Are you ready?  I am as ready as I’m going to be: Christmas Tree? Check.  Presents? Check. Ingredients for Green Bean Casserole? Check.  Christmas Spirit? Well… I’m working on it. 

If you haven’t guessed from the last post- I’ve been a little down lately.  But fear not- I have full proof Holiday traditions that get me in the proverbial “mood”…

1.  A Christmas Story.  I am not big on Christmas music and movies but I love A Christmas Story.  Not sure if it is the fact that it was shot in Cleveland (I still want to go to the Christmas Story house sometime…), the ridiculously fantastic writing or the fact that it just isn’t your typical super sappy Christmas movie.    Whatever the reason may be- I own this movie and will probably still sit down and watch large segments during TBS’s 24 hour marathon. 

2. Christmas Cards.  As I mentioned in a previous post, I love getting Christmas cards. Getting the mail is like Christmas morning in its own right.  I especially love photo cards.  I think these are a great invention.  This year I decided to display our growing collection of photo cards on the fridge and I documented their arrival.  It’s not Christmas yet, so I have hope that the collection will grow!

3. Christmas Eve.  My family isn’t big on tradition but Christmas Eve has turned into a tradition that I wouldn’t change for anything.  Every year we go to a Chinese restaurant for dinner and then open presents.  It’s simple but it’s something to look forward to…. and isn’t that what Christmas is all about!

Leave a Reply

