18 down…7 to go! Scene Challenge Update

Slowly but surely, I am finishing up the Scene challenge.  It’s definitely been a challenge- between a strangely busy winter social life and living on a few budget, things are moving slowly but they are still moving!


17. Moxie, the Restaurant (Beachwood)
I went with:
My sister & Mom
Price:  Our total was $56 before tip
What we had: We each had a glass of wine.  My mom had eaten before she came (silly woman!) and just got a small order of crab “cakes.”  Tracy and I split the Caesar salad and Spicy Shrimp Scampi.
Food:  This experience started out well for Tracy the bread lover when they brought out some amazing bread and a delicious dipping sauce.  While the Caesar salad was kinda basic – nothing exciting there- the Shrimp Scampi was delicious.  The couscous was cooked perfectly and the shrimp had just the right amount of heat. 
Service:
Our server was very attentive.  She even split our shared items in advance which was definitely a plus!
Summary:Overall it was a good experience. I’m not sure if I would say it was one of my best dining experiences for this challenge but I would give it another try.

         

18. Sokolowski’s University Inn (Tremont)
I went with:
Chris
Price:  $23
What we had: Chris had the pierogi plate with green beans and potatoes.  I had the stuffed cabbage with pierogies and sauerkraut.  We split a Coke.
Food:  Saying Sokolowski’s will fill you up is an understatement.  These heaping plates of food are mind boggling. I’ve been to Sokolowski’s before and the pierogies were delicious as usual- covered in butter with just the right amount of onion. I usually get the pierogi dinner myself but decided to branch out and try the stuffed cabbage. I am SO GLAD I did.  It was the very best stuffed cabbage that I have EVER HAD.  The only minor disappointment in the meal was my sauerkraut.  I love sauerkraut and I’ve had it here before (there have been times I asked for double sauerkraut instead of a second side…).  On this occasion, the taste was just a little off.  Not sure if it had too much butter or what.  The sourness was cut with something a little too sweet for my taste. 
Service:
Sokolowski’s is cafeteria style.  You never quite know what kind of line you are going to walk in to.  Before this experience (we got there at 7:15pm on a Saturday), I had never waited in a line that was more than 20 people long.  I’m not sure if it was the day of the week, the time of day, or the fact that we got there just as a huge retirement party was getting in, but we were all the way back at the back of the restaurant when we started.  We probably waited 20-25 minutes in line.  Chris was a little frustrated at first but I reminded him that at most restaurants we would have to wait to be seated, wait for a server to come take our order and then wait for our food.  Overall- pretty comparable.
Summary: I love Sokolowski’s and if you are looking to get really full on some authentic Polish cuisine- this is your place!

         

So, 7 restaurants left.  Planning on grabbing Chris from work when I work from home this week to cross Slyman’s off the list (they were trying really hard to make it difficult by only being open week days until 2pm but I will not be detoured!).  I also had some blogger friends mention that a night at Li Wah might be fun.  Who’s in????

3 thoughts on “18 down…7 to go! Scene Challenge Update

  1. Mary Jo Domanski says:

    I’m SO doing this…wait ’til you try L’Albatros, it is amazing!

  2. Yay! Two more down! I love Moxie so I think you definitely should give them another chance. You need to go for a full sized meal – you won’t be disappointed! I will gladly sacrifice just to help you out and join you for another of your other remaining dinners – Li Wah or whatever.

  3. [...] 4 left!!!!! (Click here, here, here, here, here and here for more Scene Restaurant Challenge [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

